How To Reset WordPress
There are times when you want to reset your WordPress installation without having to go through the WordPress installation all over from start. Knowing how to reset WordPress site is even helpful if you are a web developer, where you may test out something and need to reset it back to the default condition.
One of the easiest ways is to use the Advanced WordPress Reset plugin.
What the plugin does is reset your WordPress database, which means it deletes all your database content. Your posts, pages, and any data that are saved to the database will be gone. It is like a fresh installation of WordPress.
However, the reset won't remove your Plugins and Themes that are currently installed on your site. If you need to remove the themes and plugins. you can remove it manually but that can be done fairly quickly without a few mouse clicks.
Once you have installed the plugin, go to Tools – Advanced WP Reset to access the reset option.
After you have installed and activated the plugin, just type “reset” to confirm. A window will pop up asking you to re-confirm as this action cannot be undone.
After the reset is done, the plugin will recreate the admin user and password, the same as the one prior to resetting. In other words, you can use your existing username and password to log in as usual.
And voila…the site has been reset. It back to the famous Hello World page. If you logged in to the backend, you will notice all the plugins/themes are still intact but all have been deactivated. You can activate if you need to use any of the plugins, otherwise, just do a bulk remove.
Chances are you may only need this tool once in a blue moon, however it comes in handy whenever you need it to do a quick reset. You do not need a fresh install of WordPress, no Cpanel logging (or whatever hosting control panel you're using), and no starting from scratch.